The SAHHA Return To SABC 1 For Third Year In A Row
Published 2 years ago by

With just one day to go, what is dubbed the biggest night in Hip Hop returns on our screens

The South African Hip Hop Awards are back again this year with the 8th annual ceremony happening on Wednesday, the 20th of November at The Lyric Theatre, Gold Reef City, Johannesburg. Great achievements within the local hip hop culture will be celebrated and winners will receive a statue called “the pyramid”.

The acclaimed awards will be broadcast on SABC 1

The live nomination announcement which was held on Tuesday, the 29th of October. The team is proud to announce SABC 1 as the official broadcast partner for the third year in a row. This is an addition to spreading the reach of the awards to millions of South Africans, but also aligning the awards to SABC 1’s proposition of being more than TV but youth culture.

“We’re also honoured to introduce our sponsors which are Stylin’ Dredz and Hennessy respectively. The event proceedings promise to be more entertaining, informative and engaging for the Hip Hop masses that will be in attendance,” they say in a statement.

The show will be pre-recorded and air on SABC 1. Those who wish to attend the ceremony can purchase tickets at any Shoprite/Checkers outlet or online from Computicket.

Here is a full list of the nominees

Song of the Year:

  1. Supa Dupa – KO
  2. Yanga Chief – Utatakho Yanga Chief 
  3. Khethile Khethile – Kwesta ft Makwa, Tshego AMG , Thee Legacy 
  4. You & I –  Riky Rick ft Mlindo the Vocalist
  5. Right Now – Gemini Major ft Nasty C & Tellaman
  6. No Stress – DJ Speedsta ft Zoocci Coke Dope Una Rams , Da L.E.S
  7. Hello – Beast ft Sjava
  8. Vur Vai – Kwesta 
  9. Ama Million – Big Zulu ft Cassper Nyovest
  10. Say You Will – K.O ft Nandi Madida

Album of the Year:

  1. Thank Da King – Kid X
  2. Ungqongqoshe Wongqongqoshe – Big Zulu
  3. Candyman – Flame
  4. 3T – Youngsta CPT
  5. Nadia Naked –  Nadia Nakai 

Mixtape of the Year

  1. Job Woods – Gigi Lamayne
  2. Never Grow Up – Shane Eagle
  3. BottlebrushStr – DJ Speedsta 
  4. Die Dope – Die Mondez & Zoocci Coke Dope 
  5. 18 Flow – Touchline

Best Male Rapper

  1. Kid X
  2. Flame
  3. Big Zulu
  4. The Big Hash
  5. YoungstaCPT

Best Female Rapper

  1. Nadia Nakai
  2. Gigi Lamayne
  3. Bizzcuit
  4. Assessa

DJ of the Year

  1. DJ Speedsta
  2. DJ Akio
  3. DJ PH
  4. DJ Zan D
  5. Ms Cosmo

Producer of the Year

  1. Makwa Beats
  2. Gemini Major
  3. 808x
  4. Zoocci Coke Dope

Best Collabo

  1. You & I – Riky Rick ft. Mlindo the Vocalist
  2. Right Now – Gemini Major ft. Nasty C and Tellaman
  3. No Stress – DJ Speedsta ft. Zoocci Coke Dope, Una Rams and Da L.E.S
  4. Hello – Beast ft. Sjava
  5. Say You Will – K.O ft. Nandi Madida

Lyricist of the Year

  1. Jimmy Wiz
  2. YoungstaCPT
  3. Reason
  4. Ginger Trill
  5. PdotO

Freshman of the Year (Newcomer)

  1. The Big Hash – Young
  2. Flame – CandyMan
  3. Touchline – 18 Flow
  4. Jimmy Wiz – Accordin’ to Jim
  5. PatricKxxLEE – Nowhere Child

MVP/Hustler of the Year

  1. Cassper Nyovest
  2. Nadia Nakai
  3. Nasty C
  4. Kwesta
  5. Riky Rick

Best Video

  1. YVR – YoungstaCPT 
  2. Lost Hills – Vato Kayde ft. AKA and Gator
  3. Supa Dupa – K.O 
  4. Hosh – Priddy Ugly ft. Wichi 1080 & YoungstaCPT 
  5. Sudden – Frank Casino ft. Cassper Nyovest and Major League DJz

Best Local Brand

  1. Baps
  2. StylaGang Original Designs
  3. Butanwear
  4. Y?Gen Apparel

Best International Brand

  1. Power Play
  2. Sportscene
  3. Castle Lite
  4. Russian Bear Vodka

Promoter of the Year

  1. Pop Bottles
  2. Cotton Fest
  3. The Ivyson Tour
  4. Durban Varsity fest
  5. Fill Up

Best Remix

  1. Juju (remix) Yanga Chief ft. Kwesta 
  2. Warrior(remix) – Zaddy Swag ft. DJ Capital, Touchline, Emtee, PdotO, Ab Crazy, Red Button and Big Star Johnson 
  3. Ap3x (remastered) – Shane Eagle ft. Bas 
  4. Yeah (remix) – DJ D Double ft. AKA, Da L.E.S and YoungstaCPT 
  5. Culture Vulture (remix) – 25k ft. Emtee & AKA

Hennessy Honorary Award

  • Falko Graffiti Artist

Ubuntu Activism

  • EmileYx

Best Radio Show

  1. YFM – SA Hip Hop Live
  2. Ukhozi FM – iNumba Numba
  3. Ligwalagwala FM – Hip Hop Parliament
  4. Good Hope FM ­– The Ready D Show
  5. Metro FM – Absolute Hip Hop
  6. Massiv Metro – The Element
  7. Motsweding FM – Motswako wa Hip Hop
  8. Gagasi FM – The Fresh Cut
  9. YFM – The Rodeo
  10. 5FM – The Stir Up


We will never share your email with anyone else.